Request and Rant

I’ve been up since 7 am this morning, worked all day and then went to my night job and worked all night. I am just getting home at midnight. I’m exhausted and I’m furious. It was brought to my attention via one of my author groups that What You See has been placed, without my permission of course, on a pirate download site.

I wasn’t expecting this of course but then again what writer does? I knew it was a possibility as many things are in this business. I’m sort of annoyed with myself for not addressing this topic until now and it needs to be addressed. I’m still awake and it’s into the wee hours of the morning as I work to take measures to discover other incidents of infringement that I’ll have to deal with.

People, do I really need to tell you how wrong piracy is in any shape or form? Not to mention being monumentally insulting. It’s like saying, “I don’t give a rat’s ass that you poured your blood, sweat and tears into this story/book in the hopes of entertaining me. I’m going to steal it anyway.” No, I don’t believe I need to tell you. Others have already made the case succinctly and I feel there isn’t much more I can add. And no it’s not “free advertising” in this case. Are you really going to buy an original story if you can get it for free?

I’m also researching various sites and blogs with information on how to handle and combat piracy. If I have a few links I’ll post them later. I am trying to remain professional about this. It isn’t easy when my first thought is to completely go off on people. I’m doing this post so I can get some of the anger and frustration out of my system. For me, writing what I feel has always worked when I’m totally pissed about something and need to get my thoughts in order so I can handle the situation in a calm and logical manner.

So now I’ll try and get some sleep and work on this further in the morning or in this case, later on today. And please remember to support all the writers who work so hard to entertain you by legally purchasing their stories and books. And you know what else? If you see an instance of piracy, drop the author a line and let them know. Seriously, we’ll really appreciate it.

Peace.

CJ Black

About authorcjblack

I'm a multi-published author of fantasy, erotic and paranormal fiction. The first two books of my series, Illusion of Night and Memory in Shadow are currently available from Liquid Silver Books as well as a recently published novella, Soul Fires. I'm currently seeking an agent who loves heroic fantasy as much as I do, to rep my work, Tinderbox. I’ve been an author for almost thirty years and got my start on an old typewriter at the age of five and wrote my first novel at fourteen. Probably the world’s biggest bibliophile I own three-hundred plus books and counting. My hobbies include working in my garden, cooking and I’m possibly the world’s oldest Girl Gamer. I encourage readers and authors to contact me to discuss the business anytime.

Posted on October 24, 2009, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Hi there,
    I'm glad you joined the loop and I hope you don't let the theives get you down too much. I got really mad when I first found it too, but the anger has faded a bit. Like the Sink Their Ships blog says, I just hit those links as soon as they pop up, and every single thief has gotten tired of putting them back up and sooner or later forgets about my books.
    Crystal

    Like

  2. Thanks for your comments and welcome to my blog! I'm still keeping a close eye out and so far my Google Alerts haven't picked up on anything that shouldn't be there. Here's hoping it stays that way. See you on the group.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Amy Snyder

Just hanging out with my imaginary friends

Notes from the Teleidoplex

Transmitting the Broadcast Signal of the Universe

K. Johnson's Attempt at Literary Life

Writing - Editing - Agent Life

Tony Pi, F&SF Writer

Blog and Author Website

Disastercake

Disastercake is a lover and creator of JRPGs

Ends and Beginnings

"The World is round and the place which may seem like the end may also be the beginning."-Ivy Baker Priest

Kathleen S. Allen

Young Adult/MG and Adult Author

Nathalie M.L. Römer - Independent Multi-Genre Author

Current work includes fantasy, and science fiction and other genres coming in the near future. Follow me on Twitter @nmlromer for news! Visit www.nathaliemlromer.com for most information about my books and about me!

Lorelle on WordPress

utorials about WordPress, blogging, social media, and having your say on the web.

Live to Write - Write to Live

We live to write and write to live ... professional writers talk about the craft and business of writing

Amy M. Newman

The Literary Mom: Wife, Mom, Reader, and YA Author

Author CJ Black

Taking you to fantastic worlds where the heroes love their men and the sex is red-hot.

Robby Cook

Illustrator, Animator, Character Designer

Ink and Quills

tips and tools to tell your story

J. Kathleen Cheney

Tales from the Golden City

JILL ARCHER

THE NOON ONYX SERIES: GENRE-BENDING FANTASY

Violette Malan / VM Escalada

What's New in Violette's World

