Happy New Year! A Look Ahead…

So another year has come to an end. I can’t say it was the best for me but it was definitely better than most. It was certainly better more towards the end that’s for certain.

Many people are making New Years Resolutions and I’ve seen a fellow writer making Writing Resolutions. I haven’t done NYR’s in years because life has a way of making it impossible for me to keep them no matter how well intentioned I am.

Some of you may know I work two jobs and most of the time I’m too exhausted to do much of anything else but sleep. Writing often takes a backseat to the jobs or bill paying or errand running. I do want to quit the second job sometime in 2010 but I won’t make it a resolution because my doing so depends entirely on the economy and how things go financially. See what I mean?

Right now, I already have a few irons in the fire and I’m waiting to hear on some submissions, I’ve made but this is about what’s going to happen in 2010

If you’ve had a look at my site, you’ll see the WIP’s I currently have going. I’m working on the fantasy erotic novella starring my newest lovers, Trevant and Ransom as well as getting started on another contemporary m/m. There is also an idea in the works that I was doing some research on, a contemporary m/m vampire story, except I didn’t want to use vampires. I think I’ve found another way to do it but I’m still fleshing out the characters. So far only one is named – Edwin, the other I’ve been calling Dante – yes, I know, I’m changing it, I promise. I also have ideas for at least three other novellas in the same world as Illusion of Night.

So you’re perhaps, thinking, okay she has plans but will she do?

Well I’m going to try my best to get all of these ideas down on paper or on the PC more accurately before the year is out. And again this depends on how things go. For me the first three months of the New Year usually sets the stage for how the rest of the year will be. I couldn’t tell you why it happens that way.

For tonight however, I have to be at work but I’ll probably be out before the big moment in time at least I hope I am. Again it depends on how the night goes. I said earlier I have the champagne chilling and I’m ready to spend a nice quite evening at home and an even nicer day off tomorrow. Here’s my wish to everyone to enjoy your New Year and be safe. Peace.

Okay, so if I have to make a list of my own writing resolutions here they are:

1. Finish the novella ideas within the next three to six months. It used to only take me about one to three months to finish anything. I need to get back into that.
2. Reestablish my writing routine. Once upon a time, I had a routine set up that enabled me to finish anything within one to three months. I would get up an hour early, write for that one hour, and go to work, come home from work, and write exactly four to five hours each night. But life made it a lot harder to do.
3. Start participating more in blogs, message boards and groups. I’m an introvert by nature and usually just listen. I want to change that.
4. Start my own podcast. I’ve been trying to do this for awhile but circumstances have made it difficult to get started.
5. Promote more and not be nervous about sending out my work to be reviewed. I also want to tweak and streamline the look of my site and see if I can finally find out how to tweak my Blogger blog because for some reason their system will not accept regular HTML. Does anyone know how it’s done?

Happy New Year, everyone!

CJ Black

About authorcjblack

I'm a multi-published author of fantasy, erotic and paranormal fiction. The first two books of my series, Illusion of Night and Memory in Shadow are currently available from Liquid Silver Books as well as a recently published novella, Soul Fires. I'm currently seeking an agent who loves heroic fantasy as much as I do, to rep my work, Tinderbox. I’ve been an author for almost thirty years and got my start on an old typewriter at the age of five and wrote my first novel at fourteen. Probably the world’s biggest bibliophile I own three-hundred plus books and counting. My hobbies include working in my garden, cooking and I’m possibly the world’s oldest Girl Gamer. I encourage readers and authors to contact me to discuss the business anytime.

Posted on December 31, 2009, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Good luck. I never make New Year's resolutions – impossible to keep! I have New Year's hopes – I hope this year will launch the career I want – writing! I wish you the best.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Amy Snyder

Just hanging out with my imaginary friends

Notes from the Teleidoplex

Transmitting the Broadcast Signal of the Universe

K. Johnson's Attempt at Literary Life

Writing - Editing - Agent Life

Tony Pi, F&SF Writer

Blog and Author Website

Disastercake

Disastercake is a lover and creator of JRPGs

Ends and Beginnings

"The World is round and the place which may seem like the end may also be the beginning."-Ivy Baker Priest

Kathleen S. Allen

Young Adult/MG and Adult Author

Nathalie M.L. Römer - Independent Multi-Genre Author

Current work includes fantasy, and science fiction and other genres coming in the near future. Follow me on Twitter @nmlromer for news! Visit www.nathaliemlromer.com for most information about my books and about me!

Lorelle on WordPress

utorials about WordPress, blogging, social media, and having your say on the web.

Live to Write - Write to Live

We live to write and write to live ... professional writers talk about the craft and business of writing

Amy M. Newman

The Literary Mom: Wife, Mom, Reader, and YA Author

Author CJ Black

Taking you to fantastic worlds where the heroes love their men and the sex is red-hot.

Robby Cook

Illustrator, Animator, Character Designer

Ink and Quills

tips and tools to tell your story

J. Kathleen Cheney

Tales from the Golden City

JILL ARCHER

THE NOON ONYX SERIES: GENRE-BENDING FANTASY

Violette Malan / VM Escalada

What's New in Violette's World

