Guest Blogger – David Fingerman – Author of Silent Kill

Hello everyone! I’m excited to announce my second guest blogger courtesy of the Virtual Blog Tour Café! Please allow me to introduce David Fingerman, author of Silent Kill. Welcome David, and thanks for visiting Black Satin!

First a little about David:

Bio:

As a student at the University of Minnesota, David Fingerman realized that if he switched his major from journalism to speech, he could graduate that quarter.  It was a no-brainer. 

He worked in the court system of Hennepin County for over twenty years. In 2006 he left the court system to do what he loves to do – write. He has published a number of stories in magazines and anthologies, and published a book of speculative fiction short stories, “Edging Past Reality.” “Silent Kill” is his first novel.

David is married and presently lives in Minneapolis.

To learn more about this author visit http://www.davidfingerman.com/

***

David is here today to discuss a topic that is constantly on every writer’s mind, at least it’s constantly on MY mind – Marketing.

Marketing

I feel I’ve come a long way in a relatively short period of time. My first novel, “Silent Kill” has just been released this summer. Prior to that I had a book of short stories “Edging Past Reality” released last year. The one big thing I’ve discovered is that writing (and the going through hell called editing) is the easy part compared to marketing.

There are two basic types of marketing, online and off. For me, being an introvert to the extreme, I thought getting out into the real world prove to be much more difficult. Oh, how wrong I was. Yeah, I had to suck it up and go out of my comfort zone, walking into bookstores and hyping myself and my book. I set up readings, signed up for book fairs, and even did a couple of speaking gigs. As uncomfortable as that was (and still is to a point) I kind of knew what I was doing.

As for the online stuff? Great! I’m in the comfort of my own home and don’t have to deal with anyone face-to-face. The problem is I knew absolutely nothing. I was told I had to be on MySpace, Facebook, and Twitter. I’m now on MySpace, Facebook, Twitter, and bunches of other writing sites. Plus, there are a great number of people like CJ who are kind enough to let us writers take up space on their blog. But even though I’m sitting comfortably in my office, I’ve opened myself up a lot more online than I ever did at a signing.

For a brief moment I was smug enough to think that I really made a dent in online marketing. Reality check. I hadn’t even scratched the surface. With all the new ideas (well, new for me, speaking of which, check out my new book trailer for “Silent Kill” at http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KRzRdD4I9Y4&feature=player_embedded) being thrown in my direction . I’m guessing I’ll be curled up under my desk and in the fetal position by December.

On the serious side for a moment, unfortunately, one of the drawbacks of all this marketing is the writing itself. I haven’t done much of it in the last couple of months. I have a paved road of good intentions, but it seems like whenever I start getting back to the present novel I’m working on, I’ll come up with more ideas and more research that I want to know about on how to market. (The internet is a miracle and a curse in that regard.) It’s easy to say that I’ll deal with it later, but the mind is already racing and I can’t concentrate on plot. Soon my characters are on the computer reading bloggers. Fun for them, not so much for the reader. So for all of you writers out there who have been in this predicament, please let me know how you deal.

Thank you so much for your insight, David! And I’m happy to help my fellow writers! Feel free to request a guest blogging anytime! My fellow readers and writers, be sure to check out David’s novel Silent Kill. It’s definitely going on my TBR list!

About authorcjblack

I'm a multi-published author of fantasy, erotic and paranormal fiction. The first two books of my series, Illusion of Night and Memory in Shadow are currently available from Liquid Silver Books as well as a recently published novella, Soul Fires. I'm currently seeking an agent who loves heroic fantasy as much as I do, to rep my work, Tinderbox. I’ve been an author for almost thirty years and got my start on an old typewriter at the age of five and wrote my first novel at fourteen. Probably the world’s biggest bibliophile I own three-hundred plus books and counting. My hobbies include working in my garden, cooking and I’m possibly the world’s oldest Girl Gamer. I encourage readers and authors to contact me to discuss the business anytime.

Posted on October 6, 2010, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Notes from the Teleidoplex

Transmitting the Broadcast Signal of the Universe

K. Johnson's Attempt at Literary Life

Writing - Editing - Agent Life

Tony Pi, F&SF Writer

Blog and Author Website

Disastercake

Disastercake is a lover and creator of JRPGs

Ends and Beginnings

"The World is round and the place which may seem like the end may also be the beginning."-Ivy Baker Priest

Kathleen S. Allen

Young Adult/MG and Adult Author

Nathalie M.L. Römer - Independent Multi-Genre Author

Current work includes fantasy, and science fiction and other genres coming in the near future. Follow me on Twitter @nmlromer for news! Visit www.nathaliemlromer.com for most information about my books and about me!

Lorelle on WordPress

utorials about WordPress, blogging, social media, and having your say on the web.

Live to Write - Write to Live

We live to write and write to live ... professional writers talk about the craft and business of writing

Amy M. Newman

The Literary Mom: Wife, Mom, Reader, and YA Author

Author CJ Black

Taking you to fantastic worlds where the heroes love their men and the sex is red-hot.

Robby Cook

Illustrator, Animator, Character Designer

Ink and Quills

tips and tools to tell your story

J. Kathleen Cheney

Tales from the Golden City

JILL ARCHER

THE NOON ONYX SERIES: GENRE-BENDING FANTASY

Violette Malan

What's New in Violette's World

Bare Knuckle Writer

Going Five Rounds With The Muse

