Publish You Blog on Amazon Kindle – Info Article Part 2

Greetings everyone! Welcome to Part II of my article on the Amazon Kindle Blog Publication Service. As promised I obtained additional information concerning the clause specifying how Amazon uses the information that you publish on your blog.

So I sought the advice of the fabulous Ms. Victoria Strauss, co-founder of Writer Beware. For those of you who don’t know who Ms. Strauss is or Writer Beware, Ms. Strauss is an award-winning fantasy author. Writer Beware had been assisting authors be they published or not by provided informative articles and opinions on the various organizations, services and representatives an author may encounter in their pursuit of publication. I highly recommend her blog, Writer Beware Blogs! Read it, get to know it, live by it! Or at the very least, pay attention to it.

I wrote to Ms. Strauss and asked her to give her opinion on the clauses I mentioned in Part I. Go here to read it if you haven’t gotten a chance. The Amazon Kindle Blog service was brought to my attention on FaceBook so I checked it out but as previously stated there were clauses in the Terms and Conditions that made me a little wary. I asked Ms. Strauss for her opinion and this was her response:

“The language you’re worried about sounds alarming, but you’ll find similar language on many Internet platforms, blog hosts, content sites, message boards, etc. It’s not intended to allow Amazon to tamper with your content, but to enable the company to transmit the content to others and to promulgate it online via its website and other technology such as the Kindle. The “adapt, modify, and create derivative works of” language applies only to metadata, which is identifying information about your book or blog (author, publisher, ISBN, file size, etc.)–not the content of your book or blog.

Bottom line: You are simply agreeing to allow Amazon and any third parties it contracts with to publish, sell, list, market, and distribute your content, and to allow purchasers to download and store that content on devices such as the Kindle. You retain copyright, which means that Amazon cannot alter your content…”

So it is good to know that Amazon doesn’t plan on using your content in any way they see fit. So it seems to be basically safe to use the service if you decide to partake.

Ms. Strauss did go on to voice her personal opinion about the service itself:

“…I am skeptical of this blog service–not because of the terms of use or grant of rights, but because I find it hard to imagine that very many people will be willing to pay for blogs they can access for free online–even for the sake of the convenience of having the blogs on their Kindles.”

I have to agree with Ms. Strauss. Now I’m not saying (and I believe I can safely say neither is Ms. Strauss) that you shouldn’t attempt it but I seldom if ever pay for something I can get for free, despite convenience. I would really have to want the information.

So in order for this to truly work, you would have to be constantly updating your blog with useful information. It’s hard to say on what basis. Daily, weekly, monthly? And what would your readers consider useful? News about upcoming works alone? Personal news? Informative articles? All of the above? Would it have to focus on writing alone?  Or other topics?  I’m hoping to start doing DVD and game reviews soon.

I would be very interested in hearing from anyone who had tried this service, be you successful or not. I will print all your opinions here in a third article. In the meantime, I’m going to decide if I want to use Black Satin as a test subject. It wouldn’t hurt.

More later.

Peace,

CJ

About authorcjblack

I'm a multi-published author of fantasy, erotic and paranormal fiction. The first two books of my series, Illusion of Night and Memory in Shadow are currently available from Liquid Silver Books as well as a recently published novella, Soul Fires. I'm currently seeking an agent who loves heroic fantasy as much as I do, to rep my work, Tinderbox. I’ve been an author for almost thirty years and got my start on an old typewriter at the age of five and wrote my first novel at fourteen. Probably the world’s biggest bibliophile I own three-hundred plus books and counting. My hobbies include working in my garden, cooking and I’m possibly the world’s oldest Girl Gamer. I encourage readers and authors to contact me to discuss the business anytime.

Posted on May 21, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Notes from the Teleidoplex

Transmitting the Broadcast Signal of the Universe

K. Johnson's Attempt at Literary Life

Writing - Editing - Agent Life

Tony Pi, F&SF Writer

Blog and Author Website

Disastercake

Disastercake is a lover and creator of JRPGs

Ends and Beginnings

"The World is round and the place which may seem like the end may also be the beginning."-Ivy Baker Priest

Kathleen S. Allen

Young Adult/MG and Adult Author

Nathalie M.L. Römer - Independent Multi-Genre Author

Current work includes fantasy, and science fiction and other genres coming in the near future. Follow me on Twitter @nmlromer for news! Visit www.nathaliemlromer.com for most information about my books and about me!

Lorelle on WordPress

utorials about WordPress, blogging, social media, and having your say on the web.

Live to Write - Write to Live

We live to write and write to live ... professional writers talk about the craft and business of writing

Amy M. Newman

The Literary Mom: Wife, Mom, Reader, and YA Author

Author CJ Black

Taking you to fantastic worlds where the heroes love their men and the sex is red-hot.

Robby Cook

Illustrator, Animator, Character Designer

Ink and Quills

tips and tools to tell your story

J. Kathleen Cheney

Tales from the Golden City

JILL ARCHER

THE NOON ONYX SERIES: GENRE-BENDING FANTASY

Violette Malan

What's New in Violette's World

Bare Knuckle Writer

Going Five Rounds With The Muse

