Musing 11 – A Quick Muse

Have you ever wondered what you’re supposed to be doing?
I don’t mean just for one day, I mean life in general.  You stop one day and ask yourself, is this what I’m supposed to be doing?
I guess there’s no real way of knowing.  For example, sometimes with the strict Christian upbringing I had I wonder, should I really be writing erotic fiction?  But the thing is I love doing it.  Well I love writing period and since I’ve been published and people read my work and say they like it, I like to believe I’m good at it. 
I guess I shouldn’t worry over it.  There are a lot of things where I wonder, is this what I’m supposed to be doing?  But I suppose if it’s not we all come to know it soon enough.  Besides there’s no way I’m giving up these B&N chocolate cupcakes and their White Chocolate Mocha Frappuccino which I just discovered today.
So I’m going to continue doing what I love until the Powers That Be tell me different.
Still nothing much new on the shelves.  I still await the day when we can see our works somewhere in a section of our own.  It’s bound to happen someday.
I hope everyone is enjoying their day like I am.  With the exception of running up on a curb while making a turn in a parking lot (and having a pedestrian look at me like I was insane) it’s been a pretty good day.  Take a moment and enjoy it to.
But still work must be done.  I have two very important WIP’s that need finishing so I’m going to snap to it.
Peace
CJ
About authorcjblack

I'm a multi-published author of fantasy, erotic and paranormal fiction. The first two books of my series, Illusion of Night and Memory in Shadow are currently available from Liquid Silver Books as well as a recently published novella, Soul Fires. I'm currently seeking an agent who loves heroic fantasy as much as I do, to rep my work, Tinderbox. I’ve been an author for almost thirty years and got my start on an old typewriter at the age of five and wrote my first novel at fourteen. Probably the world’s biggest bibliophile I own three-hundred plus books and counting. My hobbies include working in my garden, cooking and I’m possibly the world’s oldest Girl Gamer. I encourage readers and authors to contact me to discuss the business anytime.

Posted on August 20, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Oiye! You went up a curb? I have to ask what was on your mind when that happened :snickering:

    But I hear yeah on thinking about what you're supposed to be doing. I think about it daily for years ahead and not daily. I'm always thinking, always wondering and always speculating. Great post!

    Like

  2. Thoughtful post. We were brought up in church – Steve Church of Christ, me – good ole Southern Baptist. My mom wishes we were writing children books. She is also upset we used our real names. Steve's side – well we don't discuss what we write. We had a discussion one night about if we went back to church would we still write erotic. I'm thinking no. We love to write erotic. So we'll only be walking through the double doors when we visit family and it's expected of us.
    Have an awesome day CJ. I said congrats on FB for your new job but I'll say it again Congrats!
    Bren

    Like

Leave a Reply

Amy Snyder

Just hanging out with my imaginary friends

Notes from the Teleidoplex

Transmitting the Broadcast Signal of the Universe

K. Johnson's Attempt at Literary Life

Writing - Editing - Agent Life

Tony Pi, F&SF Writer

Blog and Author Website

Disastercake

Disastercake is a lover and creator of JRPGs

Ends and Beginnings

"The World is round and the place which may seem like the end may also be the beginning."-Ivy Baker Priest

Kathleen S. Allen

Young Adult/MG and Adult Author

Nathalie M.L. Römer - Independent Multi-Genre Author

Current work includes fantasy, and science fiction and other genres coming in the near future. Follow me on Twitter @nmlromer for news! Visit www.nathaliemlromer.com for most information about my books and about me!

Lorelle on WordPress

utorials about WordPress, blogging, social media, and having your say on the web.

Live to Write - Write to Live

We live to write and write to live ... professional writers talk about the craft and business of writing

Amy M. Newman

The Literary Mom: Wife, Mom, Reader, and YA Author

Author CJ Black

Taking you to fantastic worlds where the heroes love their men and the sex is red-hot.

Robby Cook

Illustrator, Animator, Character Designer

Ink and Quills

tips and tools to tell your story

J. Kathleen Cheney

Tales from the Golden City

JILL ARCHER

THE NOON ONYX SERIES: GENRE-BENDING FANTASY

Violette Malan / VM Escalada

What's New in Violette's World

