News and Muse – Veterans Day 11/11/11

Like I always say, every year on this day, take a moment at least to both thank and remember the brave men and women who protect our country and freedoms.  I’m still fairly certain that if my grandfather were here and knew I wrote erotica, he’d be like. “What the hell?”  I mentioned him a little while ago, letting everyone know he was a veteran of both Korea and WWII and always very old school.
I’m into the final stretch of Souls Inflamed and as with all my work, I enjoyed the ride but am always a little sad when it ends.  I want to finish Crave The Dark as my wonderful publisher Sedonia Guillone of Ai Press has been waiting patiently for it and I appreciate it.
Things have been going well with my writing for the past few months.  As many of you know, I’ve gotten some excellent reviews for some of my newest releases.  Hell I even got a 4.5 Star Review for a book that isn’t currently on the virtual shelves so to speak, which of course, made me giddy.
If you’ll recall my fantasy erotic short story Paint became unavailable some time ago.  The plan is now to re-publish it on Kindle in the near future but apparently it was out long enough for it to be picked up by the wonderful reviewers at Night Owl Reviews.  Because of the  4.5 it became a NOR Top Pick.  Woo-Hoo!  I’m being a little low key about it right now because I want to get it up on Amazon so my equally wonderful readers can enjoy it.  So bear with me, I’ll keep you updated!
Passions Due is now listed as Number 6 of the Top 10 Bestsellers at the Ravenous Romance site!  KA-CHOW!
But you know, I have one regret.  Yes I know I shouldn’t have any but I do.  I just wish all this had happened twenty years ago.  I’ve been writing for a very long time and it’s been a long and arduous journey.  There was my writing defeat which dealt a major blow where I almost gave it up.  I had a few sales but nowhere near what’s going on now.  But realize back then there was no internet, no e-books, no Nooks or Kindles.  No Facebook or Twitter.  Hell there were even no home computers!  No being able to submit via e-mail.  When I first started out you had to hand type your manuscript and send it in via snail mail, then wait for several months, sometimes up to a year for a response.  Okay, pick your jaws off the floor.
I just think I would have gone a lot farther back then if I had everything we have now.  Although I do appreciate everything, all the technology and conveniences.  Now I have to just do the writing.  Since its going to be a cold weekend I’ll do just that.  Why not hang out with me and get some work done as well?  As always you can tell me your word count and see how far we both get.
Peace!
CJ
About authorcjblack

I'm a multi-published author of fantasy, erotic and paranormal fiction. The first two books of my series, Illusion of Night and Memory in Shadow are currently available from Liquid Silver Books as well as a recently published novella, Soul Fires. I'm currently seeking an agent who loves heroic fantasy as much as I do, to rep my work, Tinderbox. I’ve been an author for almost thirty years and got my start on an old typewriter at the age of five and wrote my first novel at fourteen. Probably the world’s biggest bibliophile I own three-hundred plus books and counting. My hobbies include working in my garden, cooking and I’m possibly the world’s oldest Girl Gamer. I encourage readers and authors to contact me to discuss the business anytime.

Posted on November 11, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Notes from the Teleidoplex

Transmitting the Broadcast Signal of the Universe

K. Johnson's Attempt at Literary Life

Writing - Editing - Agent Life

Tony Pi, F&SF Writer

Blog and Author Website

Disastercake

Disastercake is a lover and creator of JRPGs

Ends and Beginnings

"The World is round and the place which may seem like the end may also be the beginning."-Ivy Baker Priest

Kathleen S. Allen

Young Adult/MG and Adult Author

Nathalie M.L. Römer - Independent Multi-Genre Author

Current work includes fantasy, and science fiction and other genres coming in the near future. Follow me on Twitter @nmlromer for news! Visit www.nathaliemlromer.com for most information about my books and about me!

Lorelle on WordPress

utorials about WordPress, blogging, social media, and having your say on the web.

Live to Write - Write to Live

We live to write and write to live ... professional writers talk about the craft and business of writing

Amy M. Newman

The Literary Mom: Wife, Mom, Reader, and YA Author

Author CJ Black

Taking you to fantastic worlds where the heroes love their men and the sex is red-hot.

Robby Cook

Illustrator, Animator, Character Designer

Ink and Quills

tips and tools to tell your story

J. Kathleen Cheney

Tales from the Golden City

JILL ARCHER

THE NOON ONYX SERIES: GENRE-BENDING FANTASY

Violette Malan

What's New in Violette's World

Bare Knuckle Writer

Going Five Rounds With The Muse

