Musing 02-03-13

Musing 2/3/13

 

 

I’m going to start putting dates in the Musings instead of numbers because I can’t for the life of me recall the last number.

And I am here at the B & N for the first time in well about a year.  I’d stressed myself out over my Algebra homework last night to the point of giving myself a headache.  I still felt rather icky as the day progressed, until my brother and I went to the Farmers Market, then had lunch.  That helped a bit and I thought maybe I needed a little me time.  My brother agreed, knowing how long it had been since I’d had one as well.

I hope I can continue to do this. B & N are speaking of closing many of their stores now.  I feel badly for the employees especially.  I wish them well.  They are as much as my audience as anyone.

Between school, work and writing I haven’t been doing much relaxing or spending much time at the social media sites.  So sitting here, having  a red velvet cheesecake with a Vanilla Spiced Latte is doing very well to calm my nerves.

What’s On The Shelves

Still seeing a lot of paranormal, quite a few in the romance section.  I picked up one book in there, Her Sky Cowboy by Beth Ciotta and a very interesting site she has.  It’s listed as a paranormal romance when it’s obviously steampunk – but that’s just me.  Ms. Ciotta, please feel free to comment and tell us what your work really is.

There are a number of fairly well known romance authors who are crossing the bridge into fantasy, yet their books are still listed in romance.  The good news is, I’m seeing new authors so agents and publishers are still accepting us.  There was a couple of Conan, The Barbarian-type novels with big sinewy guys wearing animal furs and wielding war axes.

And I noticed a yuri series in the manga section, but no yaoi.  B&N you really need to take care of that. 

What I thankfully did not see was that table stacked with the Fifty Shades, trilogy.  Yes, I’m still on that.  And will be until the Powers That Be in the industry realize that there are much better works out there and that Fifty Shades is not representative of all erotic fiction.  Now they are planning a movie.  I’ll have more to say on that a little later.

As for me, I’ve been focusing on Tinderbox.  I’m eager to throw my hat back into the mainstream but also nervous.  The last time was a disaster.  I suppose I should have been more careful.  I usually am but I was getting a little desperate back then.  Agents were stating they were looking for works but whenever I sent them my query I’d get the same response, “this is a good story but our plates are full right now.”  I went through a whole list of agents.  Maybe that was their way of saying hell no but they could have just sent the generic email.  That’s pretty much why I got in with the wrong publisher.

Updating my list of agents brought back some rather painful memories of that time.  I wondered if I wanted to possibly put myself through that again?  Is it worth it?  Well hell, it will be if I get a contract. 

I try not to think about that time.  It makes it a hell of a lot easier to put fingers to keyboard.  I’m loving how Tinderbox is coming out and the more I work on it, the more eager I am to finish it.  I still have that feeling of knowing people will like it if they read it.

And that for an author is the most important thing.

Peace,

CJ

 
About authorcjblack

I'm a multi-published author of fantasy, erotic and paranormal fiction. The first two books of my series, Illusion of Night and Memory in Shadow are currently available from Liquid Silver Books as well as a recently published novella, Soul Fires. I'm currently seeking an agent who loves heroic fantasy as much as I do, to rep my work, Tinderbox. I’ve been an author for almost thirty years and got my start on an old typewriter at the age of five and wrote my first novel at fourteen. Probably the world’s biggest bibliophile I own three-hundred plus books and counting. My hobbies include working in my garden, cooking and I’m possibly the world’s oldest Girl Gamer. I encourage readers and authors to contact me to discuss the business anytime.

Posted on February 3, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Amy Snyder

Just hanging out with my imaginary friends

Notes from the Teleidoplex

Transmitting the Broadcast Signal of the Universe

K. Johnson's Attempt at Literary Life

Writing - Editing - Agent Life

Tony Pi, F&SF Writer

Blog and Author Website

Disastercake

Disastercake is a lover and creator of JRPGs

Ends and Beginnings

"The World is round and the place which may seem like the end may also be the beginning."-Ivy Baker Priest

Kathleen S. Allen

Young Adult/MG and Adult Author

Nathalie M.L. Römer - Independent Multi-Genre Author

Current work includes fantasy, and science fiction and other genres coming in the near future. Follow me on Twitter @nmlromer for news! Visit www.nathaliemlromer.com for most information about my books and about me!

Lorelle on WordPress

utorials about WordPress, blogging, social media, and having your say on the web.

Live to Write - Write to Live

We live to write and write to live ... professional writers talk about the craft and business of writing

Amy M. Newman

The Literary Mom: Wife, Mom, Reader, and YA Author

Author CJ Black

Taking you to fantastic worlds where the heroes love their men and the sex is red-hot.

Robby Cook

Illustrator, Animator, Character Designer

Ink and Quills

tips and tools to tell your story

J. Kathleen Cheney

Tales from the Golden City

JILL ARCHER

THE NOON ONYX SERIES: GENRE-BENDING FANTASY

Violette Malan / VM Escalada

What's New in Violette's World

