AUTHOR INTERVIEW ~ ELIZABETH NOBLE

Let’s welcome today to Black Satin, author Elizabeth Noble!  Thanks for taking the time to stop by and visit with us.  Elizabeth is a multi-published e-book author of m/m fiction.  Enjoy!

 


1. Who is author Elizabeth Noble?
That’s me of course! Currently I am writing for Dreamspinner Press, which published M/M romance novels. My novels are more of the action/adventure/sci-fi variety with a definite romance flavor to them.
2. When did you first start writing and why?
I was telling stories before I learned to read and write, so pretty much my whole life. It was just something I had to do. The stories are there, if I don’t get them out I’m sure I’ll explode or something equally dramatic.
3. Are there any particular writers who inspire you?
Sure there are. Anyone who can write and do it consistently is an inspiration. It doesn’t matter the genre they write in, it’s the fact they are determined to learn more and disciplined enough to make writing a career
4. Why your current genre/style?
It’s fun and mostly I like it. I very much write things I like to read.
5. What is the meaning behind Emotion In Motion?
That is a complete rip off from Mae West. A quote of hers is “sex is an emotion in motion”. I thought it was fitting on a few different levels.
6. Can you describe a typical day of creative work?
I still work a day job, not quite full time, so many days my writing day starts after my other job workday. I consider writing just as much of a job as being a veterinary nurse. I have several hours a night set aside to complete duties associated with writing a book. First I generally like to get emails answered, post any social media/announcement type things completed.
Before I do any new writing I go back through what was completed the day before and edit. That also helps me get back into the rhythm of the story. My goal for any given day is one thousand to two thousand words and I keep a monthly tally of what I’ve done.
7. Someone approaches you and asks you, what do you write? How do you respond?
I usually say I write romance with a slat toward action and scifi and the main characters are men.
8. How do you handle the question, “Why don’t you write something serious?”

I’ve had more of that sort of reaction to writing scifi than M/M romance. But the answer would be the same, a sort of snarky “I take what I write very seriously.”
9. How do you feel about the current state of mainstream publishing?
I think the big publishers are going to have a more and more difficult time finding quality authors since there are so many avenues open to the author just starting out. My personal observation is the mainstream publishers are sticking with the known writers and the smaller presses are getting the upcoming authors. I’ve never been convinced that big and mainstream meant better quality.
E-book publishing? I love it. The only print books I’ve gotten in the past few years are the author copies Dreamspinner sends me. Ebooks open up a new, broader market. There are no shipping costs, so it’s far easier for someone to obtain books no matter where the publisher is located. I have a Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 and adore reading on it. eBooks are good for the environment as well. I’ve switched all my magazine subscriptions to electronic format as well.
10. So are you willing to give us a little sneak peak at what Novi Orbis is?
Novi Orbis translates to New World. It’s a scifi project that I’m working on. It basically centers on two men who are part of an expedition leaving this world for a new one.
11. What are some of your other interests?
Astronomy, gardening and faux painting.
12. What was one of the most surprising things you learned in creating your books?
The amount of research needed to create a world set in the future and that I can be organized.
13. What do you think makes a good story?
A good story is different things for different people. If it holds your attention, you think about it after you’re read it and you like it, it’s a good story.
14. What are some of the promotional methods you use? What works or doesn’t?
I’ve tried to stick to a few things. I use Facebook and Google+ the most. I very much enjoy having chats were I can interact with readers and those two mediums work the best for that sort of activity.
15. Are you an introverted or extroverted writer?
Extroverted.
16. Do you feel writers get a fair portrayal in other mediums such as TV shows and movies?
I think other mediums portray writers as rich and never show what hard work creating a world and story is. That being said I love Castle.
17. Do you have any quirky or unusual stories concerning your work?
When my first book came out I was very excited to see the cover art. When it arrived I nearly hurt myself opening the email. I completely missed the fact it was a sketch. I get it open and see this thing in black and white and my first reaction was to think: but everyone else gets color!
18. Just for fun — they’re making your book into a movie. Who do you imagine would play your characters?
Oh, this changes all the time. I think my latest people for the Ruger guys are two random male models I found on line. I don’t even know their names…lol
19. And speaking of movies, what’s your writing soundtrack? Or do you write in complete silence?

No, I do not write in silence, I’m not sure I’m even capable of that. I have all my music loaded onto my PC and sometimes I just put it on shuffle and all play. Other times I have songs I’ve associated with various stories or characters and I listen to those play lists.

20. What is the best and/or worst writing advice you’ve ever received?
The best advice was never give up and write every day. The worst advice (by a non-writer) was anyone can get a book published but only if the writer pays for it and to do something practical.
21. Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?
Thank you! Everyday my readers amaze and humble me.
23. Tell us about your current and future projects. What is on the horizon?
I’m working on book five of Sentries (http://www.elizabeth-noble.com/sentries.html) , Tethered Pair. The guys are having fun riverboat gambling. Anne Barwell and I are working on a series together, we’re going to alternate books, so far we’ll have two each. She is currently working on book one, Shades of Sepia. The name of the series is The Sleepless City. ( http://www.elizabeth-noble.com/the-sleepless-city.html)

 It’s an urban fantasy with vampires and werewolves and murder mysteries. Last, but not least I’m also working on Novi Orbis.
******
Elizabeth, thanks again so much for the visit!  It’s greatly appreciated!

Here is where you can find Elizabeth:
About authorcjblack

I'm a multi-published author of fantasy, erotic and paranormal fiction. The first two books of my series, Illusion of Night and Memory in Shadow are currently available from Liquid Silver Books as well as a recently published novella, Soul Fires. I'm currently seeking an agent who loves heroic fantasy as much as I do, to rep my work, Tinderbox. I’ve been an author for almost thirty years and got my start on an old typewriter at the age of five and wrote my first novel at fourteen. Probably the world’s biggest bibliophile I own three-hundred plus books and counting. My hobbies include working in my garden, cooking and I’m possibly the world’s oldest Girl Gamer. I encourage readers and authors to contact me to discuss the business anytime.

Posted on June 2, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Notes from the Teleidoplex

Transmitting the Broadcast Signal of the Universe

K. Johnson's Attempt at Literary Life

Writing - Editing - Agent Life

Tony Pi, F&SF Writer

Blog and Author Website

Disastercake

Disastercake is a lover and creator of JRPGs

Ends and Beginnings

"The World is round and the place which may seem like the end may also be the beginning."-Ivy Baker Priest

Kathleen S. Allen

Young Adult/MG and Adult Author

Nathalie M.L. Römer - Independent Multi-Genre Author

Current work includes fantasy, and science fiction and other genres coming in the near future. Follow me on Twitter @nmlromer for news! Visit www.nathaliemlromer.com for most information about my books and about me!

Lorelle on WordPress

utorials about WordPress, blogging, social media, and having your say on the web.

Live to Write - Write to Live

We live to write and write to live ... professional writers talk about the craft and business of writing

Amy M. Newman

The Literary Mom: Wife, Mom, Reader, and YA Author

Author CJ Black

Taking you to fantastic worlds where the heroes love their men and the sex is red-hot.

Robby Cook

Illustrator, Animator, Character Designer

Ink and Quills

tips and tools to tell your story

J. Kathleen Cheney

Tales from the Golden City

JILL ARCHER

THE NOON ONYX SERIES: GENRE-BENDING FANTASY

Violette Malan

What's New in Violette's World

Bare Knuckle Writer

Going Five Rounds With The Muse

