MUSINGS 12/5/13 ~ I’VE BEEN DISSED…

So, I get the grade for my most recent assignment in my Foundations of Business Class.  We were required to write out a business plan and explain the various pros, cons, threats, and the like.  Out of 100, I received an 87.  I was a bit confused by this so I asked why the 87?  My instructor first said it was because I didn’t use APA Format.  However, I had and showed him exactly where I had gotten the instructions on how to do so.  I also told him that I had written several papers for other courses without any reprimand.  He came back to say that it was because I hadn’t chosen the right topics.  Again, I pointed out I used one of the topics he’d suggested and asked if I had made a mistake and if I needed to re-do the paper as he’d listed different topics in another area but I followed the rules he had given.

He then came back with this: “You never lose credit because of your Business Example! You lost points because you did not do your best in your articulation and you know that. Please read again my comments on your SWOT Analysis grade report.”

Um…O-K.  Wow…I mean just…wow…

Now I may have mentioned before that I am not very good with academic writing.  Hence why I am taking courses.  Some of you may recall a story I told concerning a similar situation.  I was taking courses at another college — Business Writing to be exact and if you’ve ever taken a class like that there are strict guidelines and rules to follow when preparing your papers.  I was constantly getting dinged several different ways on mine and I couldn’t figure out why so I went to my instructor and asked for her opinion.  

She took me aside and said, “Actually, I’ve read all of your papers and I think I see the issue.  You’re a novel writer aren’t you?”  To say my jaw hit the floor would be an understatement, since I hadn’t mentioned this to anyone at the time.  I asked her, “How did you know?”  And she replied, “Because I’ve written novels and short stories and I’ve had other students in this class who write the same way you do and they always have trouble.  Meaning that you have difficulties staying inside the iron box that is academic writing.”  So she gave me a few pointers on how to set aside my novel writing instinct (no small feat) and my business writing improved.

Now that was several years ago, so I don’t recall what she said.  And maybe I did slip back into novel writing mode but the accusation that I just “didn’t do my best” has pissed me off considerably.  Don’t accuse me of not trying when I write.  The instructor and the class knows I’m an e-book writer (the business plan I made was for an e-book publisher) although I haven’t told them exactly what I write.  I was sitting at work, wondering how I should handle this situation.  Should I say something to him and make it quite clear that I’ve written several novels and have never been told that I’m not doing my best — at least not to my recollection.  Sure there’s editing but this is not the same.

So what do you, my fellow writers and readers think?  Should I just let it go and move on?  I’m probably going to clear a B in the class anyway so it really doesn’t matter in the long run but still…

Meanwhile I’m still waiting with baited breath for an agent response.

I’m having a glass of wine now…

Peace ~ 
CJ



Paperback Writer
The Beatles

Paper back writer (paperback writer)
Dear Sir or Madam, will you read my book?
It took me years to write, will you take a look?
It’s based on a novel by a man named Lear
And I need a job, so I want to be a paperback writer,
Paperback writer.

It’s a dirty story of a dirty man
And his clinging wife doesn’t understand.
Their son is working for the Daily Mail,
It’s a steady job but he wants to be a paperback writer,
Paperback writer.

Paperback writer (paperback writer)

It’s a thousand pages, give or take a few,
I’ll be writing more in a week or two.
I can make it longer if you like the style,
I can change it round and I want to be a paperback writer,
Paperback writer.

If you really like it you can have the rights,
It could make a million for you overnight.
If you must return it, you can send it here
But I need a break and I want to be a paperback writer,
Paperback writer.

Paperback writer (paperback writer)

Paperback writer – paperback writer
Paperback writer – paperback writer


Writer: LENNON, JOHN WINSTON / MCCARTNEY, PAUL JAMES
Lyrics © Sony/ATV Music Publishing LLC
About authorcjblack

I'm a multi-published author of fantasy, erotic and paranormal fiction. The first two books of my series, Illusion of Night and Memory in Shadow are currently available from Liquid Silver Books as well as a recently published novella, Soul Fires. I'm currently seeking an agent who loves heroic fantasy as much as I do, to rep my work, Tinderbox. I’ve been an author for almost thirty years and got my start on an old typewriter at the age of five and wrote my first novel at fourteen. Probably the world’s biggest bibliophile I own three-hundred plus books and counting. My hobbies include working in my garden, cooking and I’m possibly the world’s oldest Girl Gamer. I encourage readers and authors to contact me to discuss the business anytime.

Posted on December 5, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Just let it go. He was being a dick. It may have been a bad day for him and he was taking it out in you. Though we both know what I would do, but do as I say, not as I do, because we both know that has not helped me in the past. Especially if you are going to pull a B out of the class anyway.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Notes from the Teleidoplex

Transmitting the Broadcast Signal of the Universe

K. Johnson's Attempt at Literary Life

Writing - Editing - Agent Life

Tony Pi, F&SF Writer

Blog and Author Website

Disastercake

Disastercake is a lover and creator of JRPGs

Ends and Beginnings

"The World is round and the place which may seem like the end may also be the beginning."-Ivy Baker Priest

Kathleen S. Allen

Young Adult/MG and Adult Author

Nathalie M.L. Römer - Independent Multi-Genre Author

Current work includes fantasy, and science fiction and other genres coming in the near future. Follow me on Twitter @nmlromer for news! Visit www.nathaliemlromer.com for most information about my books and about me!

Lorelle on WordPress

utorials about WordPress, blogging, social media, and having your say on the web.

Live to Write - Write to Live

We live to write and write to live ... professional writers talk about the craft and business of writing

Amy M. Newman

The Literary Mom: Wife, Mom, Reader, and YA Author

Author CJ Black

Taking you to fantastic worlds where the heroes love their men and the sex is red-hot.

Robby Cook

Illustrator, Animator, Character Designer

Ink and Quills

tips and tools to tell your story

J. Kathleen Cheney

Tales from the Golden City

JILL ARCHER

THE NOON ONYX SERIES: GENRE-BENDING FANTASY

Violette Malan

What's New in Violette's World

Bare Knuckle Writer

Going Five Rounds With The Muse

